OpenMI Awards 2013 Winners Announced

Post date: Jun 24, 2014 2:54:11 PM

The OpenMI Association is pleased to announce the winners of the OpenMI Awards 2013. These awards reward excellence in the use and development of the Open Modelling Interface standard. They focus on the contributions of individuals and groups in furthering the application and evolution of OpenMI. The three winning entries, in no particular order, are given below.

1. F. Fotopoulos, C. Makropoulos, M.A. Mimikou (National Technical University of Athens)

The publication "Flood forecasting in transboundary catchments using the Open Modeling Interface" was judged to be a smart use of the generic character of OpenMI with relevant discussion on the use of OpenMI in an operational context. Also, it was remarked that, for this case, OpenMI simplifies what would otherwise be a complicated and unmaintainable system.

2. A. Castronova, J. Goodall, M. Ercan (University of South Carolina)

The publication "Integrated modeling within a Hydrologic Information System: An OpenMI based approach" was thought by the judges to make the OpenMI as platform accessible to a wider community with excellent progress of OpenMI.

Jonathan Goodall and Mehmet Ercan following presentation of the award at iEMSs 2014

3. B. Becker (Deltares), F.M. Evers, H. Schuttrumpf (RWTH Aachen University)

The publication "OpenMI coupled surface-subsurface water flow simulation for subsurface flood modeling with FEFLOW" was seen by the judges as a practical example illustrating how an existing program interface can be used to make a program OpenMI compliant without access to the source code. It was also judged to be an interesting and relevant pragmatic approach to coupling with well described results.