OpenMI Awards

The annual awards for Outstanding Contribution to OpenMI reward excellence in the use and development of the Open Modelling Interface standard. They focus on the contributions of individuals and groups in furthering the application and evolution of OpenMI.


Sponsored by the OpenMI Association, up to three "Outstanding Contribution to OpenMI" awards will be given each year. These are intended to recognise all achievements in furthering the use and development of OpenMI, for example, but not limited to:

  • Examples of the use of OpenMI in "real-world" situations;
  • Research projects and innovations involving OpenMI;
  • OpenMI related tools and new technologies;
  • Extensions to the standard;
  • Publications, promotion and presentations.

There are no specific categories for awards, all entries will be considered together and the winners will be taken from the full set of nominations. Each entry will be considered on its own merit, irrespective of the number of similar entries. The judges will pay special attention to the evidence of each entry's success.

Entries are not confined to OpenMI Association members, any individual or group is entitled to enter.

<back to top>


Entry to the OpenMI Awards is by posting an announcement on the OpenMI Association website or by publishing a paper with OpenMI related content. All announcements which arrive or papers which are published during the calendar year 1st January through to the following 31st December (GMT) will be considered for an award in that year (whether or not that is the intention of posting the news item or publishing the paper!). Instructions for posting announcements can be found here. News item entries must take the form of a legitimate news item and include sufficient description.

Entries must be in English and can come from individuals or groups. Multiple entries are permitted and, in fact, encouraged.

The entry can be of any length and include attached documents, however, it is recommended to restrict news item entries to 1,000 words and one similar sized supporting pdf. The judges do not guarantee to read longer entries, although further information may be sought if deemed necessary. Priority will be given to papers in peer reviewed journals over those published via other means.

Each entry must include a named, representing individual with their email address.

Members of the OpenMI Association Executive Committee (c.q. nominated representatives of institutional members) are prohibited from entering the awards, but other nominations from their organisations are encouraged.

In addition to entries submitted through the website announcements and published papers, special awards may also be given through nomination by the OpenMI Association Executive Committee.

<back to top>


The OpenMI Association Executive Committee will judge the entries according to the criteria outlined above. The process will begin on 1st January and will be completed at the following OpenMI Association Annual General Meeting (AGM) where the selection of the three winners will be decided. In the event of a high number of entries the judges may choose to additionally recognise a short-list of finalists. The judges' decision is final. No communication will be entered into following the judges' decision.

The OpenMI Association reserves the right to amend the competition terms, conditions and rules if this becomes necessary through special circumstances.

<back to top>

Announcement of Winners

Shortly after the AGM the winners (and any short-listed entrants) will be notified by email. An additional news item will also be placed on the OpenMI Association website and the Open Geospatial Consortium website detailing the winning (and short-listed) entries. Winning (and short-listed) entries will also receive a certificate and be issued with a logo for use on their publicity. Winning entries will receive a small token, sponsored by one of the OpenMI Association Executive Committee organisations.

<back to top>

Past winners


    • Mark Ridler (DHI, Univ. Copenhagen), Nils van Velzen (TU Delft, VORtech),
    • Stef Hummel (Deltares), Inge Sandholt (Univ. Copenhagen), Anne Katrine Falk (DHI), Arnold Heemink (TU Delft), Henrik Madsen (DHI): Data assimilation framework: Linking an open data assimilation library (OpenDA) to a widely adopted model interface (OpenMI)


  • F. Fotopoulos, C. Makropoulos, M.A. Mimikou (National Technical University of Athens): Flood forecasting in transboundary catchments using the Open Modeling Interface
  • A. Castronova, J. Goodall, M. Ercan (University of South Carolina): Integrated modeling within a Hydrologic Information System: An OpenMI based approach
  • B. Becker (Deltares), F.M. Evers, H. Schuttrumpf (RWTH Aachen University): OpenMI coupled surface-subsurface water flow simulation for subsurface flood modeling with FEFLOW.


  • Aston University: Integrating OpenMI and UnCertWeb;
  • Paul Cleverley (HR Wallingford), David Kelly (HR Wallingford) and Adrian Harper (Innovyze): FluidEarth2.


  • Kansas State University: Efficient Data Access for Open Modelling Interface (OpenMI) Components;
  • Vrije Universiteit Brussel and UNESCO-IHE: Hydrological Open Source Experiences using SWAT and OpenMI;
  • The British Geological Survey and Loughborough University: Catastrophe Model for Groundwater Flooding in the Berkshire Downs.


  • TU Darmstadt ihwb (DE): OpenMI based Integrated Modelling Environment;
  • Kisters (DE): The WISKI 7/KiTSM has become OpenMI compliant;
  • HRWallingford Floods Group (UK): OpenMI Wrapping of the HR Wallingford Standard Time Series Data Source.


  • BAW (DE): OpenMI Compliant Import of Initial and Boundary Data into a Numerical 3D Model.

<back to top>